Killer Heels Exhibit: The Art of the High-Heeled Shoe

IMG_2255

IMG_2252e

IMG_9686

If you know me, you probably know the fact that I’m a major shoe addict… like…it’s kind of a problem lol. So naturally, I am beyond excited to share my experience at the Killer Heels exhibit with you all! Ever since I found out that it came to Albuquerque, I was DYING to go!! So being the cutie he is, my husband took me to the art museum to go see this…is he a keeper or what?!

The exhibit displayed SO many unique styles of high heels from all different fashion eras, celebrities, and designers. The oldest heels there, were from WAY back in the day when men were the ones to wear heels! That’s right, men wore them first!! Before we stepped in and took over the trend, that is;)

  It was incredible to see how fashion has, and continues to change throughout time. I was fascinated by the history behind each shoe. Every heel in that exhibit told a story, or made a huge statement for the time period in which it was created.

The exhibit also touched on the fact at how differently men and women view heels. For a lot of women, it can be a confidence booster. BUT for a lot of the guys, they see them as either ridiculously attractive…or just flat out ridiculous lol.

Luckily, I was able to take a TON of pictures so that I can share some of my favorites with you guys… I hope you like!  ❤

KILLER HEELS Abq 007e

KILLER HEELS Abq 012e

KILLER HEELS Abq 031e

KILLER HEELS Abq 065e

^^ Cinderella inspired glass slippers ❤

KILLER HEELS Abq 017e

KILLER HEELS Abq 029e

KILLER HEELS Abq 026e

KILLER HEELS Abq 044eKILLER HEELS Abq 059e

KILLER HEELS Abq 062e

PicMonkey CollagePicMonkey Collageeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

^^Both of those heels were owned by none other than Marilyn Monroe! Of course, her famous black pumps, as well as the little fluffy costume heels that she would wear backstage. ❤

KILLER HEELS Abq 009e

KILLER HEELS Abq 054e

KILLER HEELS Abq 014eKILLER HEELS Abq 071e

^^ It’s probably no shock that these shoes were Lady Gaga’s! She wore these statement heels when debuting her new perfume, Fame.

KILLER HEELS Abq 058

KILLER HEELS Abq 049ePicMonkey Collageeee

KILLER HEELS Abq 040e

^^ These heels, like many others in the exhibit, were actually designed by architects and were more like pieces of art! These ones were laser cut by plexi glass.

KILLER HEELS Abq 088e

KILLER HEELS Abq 085e

KILLER HEELS Abq 019e

KILLER HEELS Abq 055eKILLER HEELS Abq 060e

^^ This heel was SUER interesting because it was designed for a dual purpose during time of war. It was made to plant seeds as the shoe was being walked in. Greenest shoe EVER…How cool is that?!

KILLER HEELS Abq 076e

KILLER HEELS Abq 069e

^^ At the same time period when everyone was going crazy about flight and outer space, a lot of futuristic designs began to be incorporated into fashion.

KILLER HEELS Abq 090e OK I’m done nerding out now!! lol

As many shoe pictures as I posted, this was just a SMALL glimpse of what the exhibit offers! The pictures definitely can’t do those beauties justice, but I hope you enjoyed seeing some of my favorite designs from the show!

 Killer Heels was definitely a must-see for any of my fellow shoe-addicts or fashion lovers!! ❤

Would you wear any of those heels?!

xoxo, Bekah

 ps: I seriously want one of these jumbo heel chairs somewhere in my house!! haha

IMG_2256e

Leave a Reply

