DIY self-tan lotion

tan

Hey everyone! We’re well into June, and summer is in full swing! That’s when I realized that I seriously need to up my tanning game…

Usually by this time of year, I’m a lot tanner than my ghostly self is right now! But with work, sometimes it’s hard to spend as much time out in the sun as I’d like. If you’re in the same boat as me, then I can’t wait for you to try out today’s DIY! It’s literally the easiest thing to make, containing only 2 ingredients that you probably already have at home!

TANNNN 019e

All you need to make this self-tan lotion is

1. Your favorite non-scented lotion. I used Aveda’s Hand Relief, and you can check it out right here!

http://www.aveda.com/product/5205/16410/Body/Moisturize/index.tmpl

…and 2. Cocoa powder

I know it sounds a little weird, but cocoa powder actually has a ton of great health benefits! It’s rich in antioxidants, promotes collagen production for tighter skin, it can be extremely moisturizing, as well as creating a natural glow for your skin!Plus, it smells delicious. What’s not to love?! 😉

TANNNN 006e

To make this tanner, you’re going to want to have 2 parts lotion, to 1 part cocoa powder. The cocoa powder goes A LONG way, so you definitely don’t want to add too much!! Test a little bit on your skin to see if you need to add more or not. Then just make sure you mix it together until there aren’t any more clumps in it! And yes, I used a fro-yo spoon…lol

How to Apply:

Start off by exfoliating your skin really good with a loofa or dry wash cloth. This will get off all that dead skin, and it helps to  prep the skin for the lotion. It’ll also make your skin feel so much softer because the lotion will sink into your skin better!

Next take a small amount of the tanning lotion at a time, and rub it onto your skin from the center, outwards!

Once you’ve applied the tanner in all of your desired areas, take a towel and lightly pat it dry. After that, I took some normal lotion and applied a thin layer on top of the tanning lotion I just applied. Doing that helped to blend it all out a lot better!

If you have any left over tanning lotion, you can put it in a sealable container and store it in the fridge for a little bit!

And voila! Instant color… without having to lay out in the sun!

Here’s a before and after pic of my arm/hand for you guys 🙂

PicMonkey Collage1

I hope you all liked today’s DIY!! Let me know if you happen to try it out this summer!

Happy Tanning;)

XOXO, Bekah

Leave a Reply

