Make your own Beauty Blending Sponge!

Hello lovelies!

If you’re a makeup addict like me, then you’ve probably heard of the oh so popular Beauty Blender! If you haven’t, the Beauty Blender is basically a really nice sponge that makes your makeup application look airbrushed! I absolutely love it. But when it comes down to it, it’s a sponge…a REALLY EXPENSIVE sponge.

 You can achieve the same results as a beauty blender (without the cost) by making your very own dupe! Here’s how you make it:)

All you need:

  •  memory foam ( make sure it’s one that’s close celled)
  • scissors
  • serrated knife

image22edit

image11edit

For my sponge, I actually used the memory foam from a travel pillow! The texture really reminded me of the Beauty Blender, and I like that it’s much denser than other sponges. I even had so much of the memory foam left over, that I was able to stuff the rest back into the pillow case! Good as new!! lol

image4hptedottttt

So what you’re going to do, is cut off a piece of memory foam.( It cuts really easy if you pinch it down while cutting!) Then, cut your freshly-cut section in half! This will give you the perfect hand-held size to create your blending sponge!

Using scissors, I took the piece of foam and cut a blunt tear shape, similar to the beauty blender. It kind of looked like a peeled potato…lol So to round it out and make it look more smooth, I took the serrated knife and kind of shaved off the pieces that were sticking out or misshaped. Try to keep the bottom of your sponge spherical, and bring it to a pointed top. The rounder part at the base is great for all over face application, while the tip is perfect for hard- to-reach areas, like underneath your eyes!

After a few minutes you should have something close to this… 🙂

image3bggedit

image2derewedit

It’s not going to be 100% perfect–but it doesn’t need to be! As long as you have this general shape, it’s going to work great! I promise:)

image4editimage2edit2

TA DAAAA!

( the hand on the top has been blended with my new blender, while the other hand is pale and makeupless lol)

How to Use:

  • First wet your sponge with water until it’s completely saturated, then squeeze out any excess water. It’s going to plump up a bit, which is what you want!
  • Now take your sponge for a dip in your makeup! While applying it on your face, make sure you use a bouncing motion, pressing the product into your skin rather than rubbing it. This is going to give you that amazing, flawless coverage! Hello stipple, bye bye pores!!
  • This sponge also makes a fantastic eraser if you accidentally put too much powder or blush on—we’ve all been there, ladies. Simply dry your blending sponge, and buff off any of that overload! *ahh that’s better:)*

How to clean:

Since half of the beauty of this product is the fact that it’s reusable, it’s important to know how to clean it! All you need to do is dilute either shampoo or some dish soap with water, and rinse off. You could also use makeup removing cleansers or brush cleaners, just avoid using any harsh cleansers:) Make sure you have rinsed out all of the bubbles before allowing your sponge to dry.

Thank you all SO, SOOO much for reading this DIY! I think it is such a handy little thing to use for makeup, and even blending in skincare products and sunscreen! Most of all, I hope this saves you lots of MONEY:D

Keep calm, and blend on ❤

XOXO, Bekah

7 comments

  1. WHAT?! You have blown my mind. I have a Beauty Blender, going strong despite how long I’ve been using it, but I am definitely looking into alternatives for the dreaded day my BB decides to blend its last.

    Thank you for posting this! Would love to read another post about how this has worked out for you in a review!

    Like

    1. YAY I’m so glad you found this post helpful:) I absolutely love the way my makeup looks after using the beauty blender, but I don’t love the price…lol I have been using my homemade one and have found it gives me the same results! Plus, it’s super easy to clean! You should totally try it out sometime, and let me know what you think! And that’s a great idea–I will definitely post a review of how it’s been working out for me soon! I’ll show how I do my makeup with it and everything:) Thanks for reading, and for the amazing idea Tiff:)! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Is there any end to your talents Bekah?! hehe Honestly, my ‘To do’ list is expanding at a vast rate thanks to your recent posts!!!! I’m really hoping you’ll be up for featuring on a future ‘behind the blog’ *check out my latest post if you have a few mins to spare* This level of awesomeness has to be featured 😀 Have a super weekend lovely, Karen x

    http://www.confettiandcurves.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Awe thank you SO much Karen!! Your comments always put a smile on my face, you are just the sweetest! By the way, I just read about your amazing “Behind the Blog” post, and I think that’s a genius idea!! What a great way to get to know more bloggers:) I would absolutely LOVE to be a part of it sometime!! So exciting! You can email me at redeemcliche@gmail.com
      Congrats on the one month blog-iversary btw;)! And many more months to come:)! ❤
      I hope you are having a fabulous weekend!

      Like

      1. YAAAAAAAAAY *Karen does a happy dance* So blooming glad to have you feature – I shall certainly be in touch very soon to sprinkle your inbox with some ‘Behind The blog’ cheer (and questions) lol
        What a super lovely reply BTW – honestly you are such a darlin’ & thank you so much. I think that deserves a cyber hug *squeeeeze* 😀 Keep an eye on your inbox lovely… Karen X

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay for cyber hugs:D lol
    Awe thank you soooo much! I am beyond excited for the ‘Behind the Blog’ posts and to answer the questions:)! It will be SO much fun! You always have the best posts and ideas!! ❤
    hope your day is going great:)
    xo, Bekah

    Like

Leave a Reply

