Shoe Makeover: Halloween Edition!

PicMonkey Collage

Hello my pretties:)!

So tomorrow is officially Halloween, and this year I’m going to be Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz! Yeah, I still dress up… lol

I don’t know why, but I always have so much more fun making my costume, instead of buying one! So tonight I wanted to show you guys how I made Dorothy’s must-have glittery red shoes! It only takes about an hour tops, so if you’re pulling together a last minute costume idea…this would be a great one;) hint, hint.

Here’s what you’ll need!

IMG_4933edit

  • A pair of shoes of your choice
  • Red glitter
  • Spray adhesive
  • Red paint (optional)
  • Ribbon (also optional)
  • Hot glue gun

IMG_4930edit

IMG_4931

So instead of buying new shoes, I actually used an old pair of heels that I wore when I was a bridesmaid for my bestie’s wedding! They were originally black, but the bride spray painted them her wedding color! So obvi, these weren’t shoes I was ever going to wear again. Not sure why I still had them in my closet to be honest… but it definitely came in handy for this project, so yay for being a shoe hoarder;)

I didn’t want any of the blue spray paint to show through the glitter, so I started off by painting the shoes red! This step is totally optional.

IMG_4934edit

After the paint is completely dry, take your spray adhesive and spray directly onto the shoes in small sections at a time. Sprinkle the glitter where you just sprayed, and continue to do this until the entire shoe is bedazzled! I suggest doing this in the garage, or somewhere well ventilated…the spray adhesive is pretty intense stuff! haha

IMG_4943edit

Once your shoes are completely covered in glitter, you can be done! OR…you can add embellishments like bows. I always say yes to bows…i’m obsessed ❤

I took some chunky, red ribbon and tied two bows–one for each! Then I simply hot glued the bows where I wanted them, and voilaaa! Now you’re ready to strut down the yellow brick road;)

IMG_4976edit

IMG_4983edit

IMG_4989edit

Wasn’t that so EASY?! These shoes were a blast to make, and were definitely the most affordable way to complete my costume:) I kind of wish these shoes were in style to wear on a normal day… I think they’re so adorable! lol

Thanks so much for reading, I hope you guys liked this how-to post and found it helpful for your halloween look!

Stay tuned for pics of my entire costume tomorrow!  I’m gonna be all matchy matchy with my husband, the scarecrow, and my toy poodle who is of course going to be Toto… 🙂

Who are you gonna be this year?!

XOXO, Bekah

4 comments

  1. I love it! :o)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awe, thanks so much!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this idea! The Wizard of Oz is one of my favourite movies. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, they were super fun to make!!
      MINE TOO! Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve always loved it…it’s a classic for sure:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

